Give Us a Call: +965 97860595

ISO 9001:2015

What is ISO?

The International Organization for Standardization(ISO) is an independent, non-governmental international standard-setting organization composed of 161 national standards bodies.In 1946 over 25 countries  assembled in London to create a new international organisation with an objective to ‘facilitate the international coordination and unification of industrial standards’. ISO officially began operations in February 1947,with their Central Secretariat based in Geneva, Switzerland.

What is ISO Management System?

A management system defines the set of procedures required by an organization to meet its objectives. The set of procedures vary with respect to the size of the organization, the larger the organization, the requirement for pre-defined procedures. need to be recorded to ensure everyone is clear on who does what. This process of systemizing how things are done is known as a management system. 

What are Standards?

A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.
They give world-class specifications for products, services and systems, to ensure quality, safety and efficiency. 

ISO has published more than 21000 International Standards and related documents, covering almost every industry, from technology, to food safety, to agriculture and healthcare. Standards help in facilitating international trade. A management system standard tells your customers that you are bound and determined on fulfilling their business needs.

The increasing demand and sophistication of customers have virtually modified the rules of competition and has enforced organizations to focus on quality. Today, what underlies competitive advantage is the ability to provide products and services that meet or exceed the needs of customers. This implies that to survive, organizations must devise new management systems. 

Quality Management System defines the principles for quality management system and is the only standard in the family that can be used by any organization, large or small, regardless of its field of activity. It aims to help organization's become structured and efficient. The latest revised edition of ISO 9001:2015 is centered on the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) methodology and provides a process-oriented approach to documenting and reviewing the structure, responsibilities, and procedures required to achieving effective quality management in an organization.
The revisions introduced in the 2015 are envisioned to ensure that ISO 9001 continues to adapt to the changing environments in which organizations operate. Some of the significant updates in ISO 9001:2015 include the introduction of new terminology, restructuring some of the information, an emphasis on risk-based thinking to enhance the application of the process approach, improved applicability for services, and increased leadership requirements. Using ISO 9001:2015 helps ensure that customers get consistent, good quality products and services, which in turn brings many business benefits.

There are over one million companies and organizations in over 170 countries certified to ISO 9001. This standard acts as a tool to streamline their processes and increase their efficiency at what they do. It also helps organizations demonstrate to their customers that they can offer products and services of consistently good quality 

ISO 9001:2015 has replaced the previous editions and certification bodies have up to three years to migrate certificates to the new version.


ISO 9001 contains seven key principles of quality management which are not auditable but do form the fundamental characteristics of quality management:

  1. Customer Focus
  2. Leadership
  3. Engagement of People
  4. Process Approach
  5. Improvement
  6. Evidence-based Decision Making
  7. Relationship Management